Prempeh will equal PRESEC’s NSMQ record 2022 – NAPO

Prempeh College will equal PRESEC's NSMQ record 2022 - NAPO

Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh after Prempeh College won their fifth National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ) title has expressed confidence his alma mater next year will equal the NSMQ record of all Boys Senior High School (PRESEC)

In a social media post sighted by, the former Minister for Education said “Once again, my beloved alma mater, the prestigious Prempeh College, has lifted the covetous NSMQ trophy, this being our 5th win

It was a thrilling final, and I congratulate our worthy opponents, Presbyterian Boys Secondary School and Keta SHTS, for putting up a gallant performance. In particular, Keta SHTS showed a lot of grit in getting to the final

This National Science and Mathematics (NSMQ) competition has come to stay and it is encouraging to note the massive interest it attracts, even if primarily it is a projection of old school pride and rivalries.

Our team has made us all proud and I am confident that we will gallantly defend the cup next year, and keep it in Kumasi. We shall equal Presec’s six-win record in 2022 and break it the following year,” Dr Matthew Opoku noted.

Kumasi-based Prempeh College on Friday, November 26, 2021, after several rounds in the final of the NSMQ contest, was crowned the ultimate winner beating Volta-Region-based keta Senior High School and PRESEC – Legon.

The Ashanti-Region Senior High School secured 53 points to win the contest while the Legon-based Presbyterian School had 49 points and Keta SHTS, the first school from the Volta Region to make it to the final, had 30 points.

As the ultimate winner of the quiz, Prempeh College took home the coveted trophy and a cash of GH¢80,000. GH¢40,000 would go to the school while the teachers and the contestants would share the rest GH¢20,000.00 each.

PrimeTime, producers of the quiz competition this year conducted the 2021 National championship of the National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ) in Greater Kumasi at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science Technology (KNUST).