European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) Grading Scale

The European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) is a standardized system used by universities in the European Union and other countries to ensure that the qualifications of students who study at different institutions are comparable. The ECTS grading scale is used to evaluate and grade the performance of students who study abroad under the ECTS.


The ECTS grading scale ranges from A (highest) to F (lowest). The grades are accompanied by a descriptor of the performance, indicating what knowledge and skills have been acquired by the student.

Here is the ECTS grading scale:

  • A (Excellent): 90-100%
  • B (Very good): 80-89%
  • C (Good): 70-79%
  • D (Satisfactory): 60-69%
  • E (Sufficient): 50-59%
  • F (Fail): 0-49%

The ECTS grading system is based on a scale of 0-100 with pass marks being typically between 50 and 60. Some institutions use different systems with different pass marks and different sets of grades. They are however expected to follow the ECTS Grading Table which describe the performance level achieved and knowledge/skills acquired.

It’s important to note that while the ECTS grading scale is used by many universities in Europe, it is not universal, and individual institutions may use different grading systems. Also, while the ECTS grading scale provides a way to compare the relative difficulty of courses and academic performance between students and institutions, it’s not always a direct equivalent of the grading systems used in a student’s home country.

Leave a Comment